• Alma Brainy

Major Changes in AIAG-VDA FMEA

1. Inclusion of PFMEA 1st Step – Planning and Preparation.  While defining the scope has always been part of the FMEA development, the AIAG & VDA FMEA Handbook gives it increased prominence. For example, determining analysis boundaries (what is included and what is excluded), application of 5T’s (FMEA InTent, Timing, Team, Tasks, Tools), preparation of baseline FMEAs with lessons learned, and clear definition of roles and responsibilities (management, technical lead, facilitator, team members) are now more explicitly included in FMEA preparation.

2. PFMEA 2nd Step – Structure Analysis. Added a more detailed breakdown of the manufacturing process: • Focus Element of the PFMEA: the process step station number and name under review • Next Higher Level: process item system (the overall manufacturing process)

• Next Lower Level process: work element 4M type (based on Ishikawa approach). This drives the users to consider the categories of Man, Machine, Material, Method, etc., leading to a more complete list of Failure Cause (FC).

3. PFMEA 3rd Step – Function Analysis. Added the description of functions and requirements related to the Next Higher Level and Next Lower Level. This supports a clear and complete description of the Failure Effects (FE) and Failure Causes (FC).

4. PFMEA 4th Step – Failure Analysis. Potential Failure Mode is replaced with Failure Mode (FM) of the Focus Element. Potential Effect(s) of Failure is replaced with “Failure Effects (FE) to the Next Higher-Level Element and / or Vehicle End User. Potential Cause of Failure is replaced with Failure Cause (FC) of the Work Element.

5. PFMEA 5th Step – Risk Analysis. Classification is replaced with Special Characteristics and Filter Code. Occurrence is replaced with Occurrence of the FC. The Occurrence rating now is based on “prediction of FC occurring”, which leads to determining the actual robustness of the Prevention Controls (PC). Current Process Control – Prevention is replaced with Current Prevention Control (PC) of the Failure Cause (FC). Current Process Control – Detection is replaced with Current Detection Control (DC) of the Failure Cause (FC) or the Failure Mode (FM). Detection is replaced with Detection of the FC or FM. Detection is now based on three factors: detection method maturity, opportunity for detection, and ability to detect. RPN is replaced with PFMEA Action Priority (AP). Low, Medium, and High AP levels drive the determination of action priority.

6. PFMEA 6th Step – Optimization. Recommended Action replaced with Prevention Action and Detection Action. Added the columns: Status (planned, decision / implementation pending, completed, discarded), Action Taken with pointer to evidence, Special characteristic, and Remarks.

7. PFMEA 7th Step – Results Documentation. Internal reporting to management and customer reporting.

218 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All